18 Marriage Lessons…

To commemorate the 18 great years since I married my college sweetheart, I took some time to think through 18 lessons that I’ve learnt about marriage in that time. Please vote for your top 3 and I promise to expound on them in a blog post soon! So… here goes…

  1. A great marriage consists of two good friends – everything else is hype
  2. A cord of three strands is not easily broken
  3. If one of us wins, we both lose
  4. You’ll never meet all your spouses needs!
  5. Marriage takes mutual sacrifice
  6. Divorce is not an option
  7. Our marriage is the means to an end
  8. We need a common approach to parenting
  9. We need a common approach to in-laws
  10. Takes a lot of time to get it right!
  11. If you can’t lend trust, don’t get married!
  12. Opposites attract! And soon attack 🙂
  13. These are the ‘good old days’
  14. If the grass is greener on the other side, water yours!
  15. Don’t be a ‘child centered’ marriage
  16. Absence makes the heart go wander
  17. Parenting is a team sport
  18. Schedule spontaneity!

So… voting lines are open 🙂 Please let me know which three you’d like to hear more about!

***

Thanks to all who voted! Will let you know soon which the three winners were. Watch this space!

***

AND THE WINNERS ARE…

#4 – You’ll never meet all your spouses needs!

#7 – Our marriage is the means to an end

#1 – A great marriage consists of two good friends – everything else is hype

The people have spoken 🙂

76 responses to “18 Marriage Lessons…

  1. Since I have to pick, I choose 2, 8 and 15 – it is very hard to pick the top 3 because all 18 are right on!

  2. Laughed, smiled and nodded through them all. Learnt ‘schedule spontaneity’ from Czarbo and Levina sometime ago; figure it’d be a great lesson to fafanua for many married folks.

  3. I agree with all of them. Its hard to vote for only 3 but i particularly like 13, 15 and 16.

  4. This is so beautiful, Pastor M.
    2 – Do you mean children here?
    7 – powerful. Would love to hear more on this
    12 – Funny & true. I am looking forward to someone else’s point of view on this 🙂

  5. I vote ALL! Very true. I’m sure I could have added something (if only I knew what that would be) LOL!!

  6. 1, 4 and 14 – Thanks for sharing. I suspect, though, that the vote will be influenced by experience.

  7. congratulations! These are not my best but rather those i need explained- 7, 13, 18

  8. All ring true but i particularly like 6; if you get in agreement that divorce will not be an option, then you are infact agreeing to work through all the thick and the thin. I also like 1 because infactuation then love has was of whittling down and what must then remain is friendship. I also vote for 4, often we seek to be perfect for the other person..truth is God never created anyone perfectly. Thanks Pastor M…solid advice.

Comments are closed.