#HatersNoMore

This month we’ve been going through a series at Mavuno called ‘Haters No More’. We’re learning that it’s time to stop hating on our country and our leaders every time we speak because by doing so, we cut ourselves down. Instead God is giving us a counter-cultural call to be people of honor, not because of who leads us but because of who He is. We also learnt that honor goes beyond mere words to positive action. You can see summaries of the series and people’s responses here.

So… last weekend, a large # of people across the different Mavuno churches committed to take part in a 30-day ‘HatersNoMore’ challenge. For the next 30 days (Nov 21st – Dec 21st), we will commit to positively honor those who God has appointed to be leaders over us… whether national, civic, spiritual, social or at home. We will look for opportunities every day to either pray for, affirm or bless someone in leadership over us.

Some great stories came in yesterday, which was Day #1. On the mavuno blog, Muthoni committed to make amends with her mom, who she hasn’t spoken to in over a year, ‘because i wouldn’t want to be in the same position as a mother of a 19 year old daughter myself’. On my FB wall, Charity confessed she has surprised herself by saying something nice about the Nairobi City Council! On twitter (#HatersNoMore), RookieKe made a call that was overdue by 10 years! It lasted only 1.20min but it was a start. Kevansweli made up with his dad. Mes Teiy committed to ask the local councilor and police how to pray for them. The revolution begins!

If you haven’t yet joined the #HatersNoMore challenge, start today. And please share what activations you come up with and the results if any!

God bless

8 responses to “#HatersNoMore

  1. hi pasi am so trying to stop jhating amd a divocee cheated and betrayed by ma so called faithful wife then wen am at my worst my friend insists we go to church am like “wat for life sucks” then he forces me board a mat so I ended up at Mavuno for my first time.I hav attended two services consecutively (last sato was my second of which I invited a friend) you have been preaching on haters no mo but tha pain is too much I hope I change am trying its not easy since u have neva been in ma case u might nt understand. anyway i have a son i hope i will love him I WILL HATE NO MORE

  2. Am J. I am in business. I believe am the best boss. Out of my team of 12 , i have 2 senior managers who all they do is hate hate on me and the company, yes its behind my back.I always just let it slide. I however get hurt by them especially because they are supposed to be my most trusted of staff.
    Its cost me blood to put this business together, even though sometimes one may disagree , it doesn’t cost much to do it with respect.
    Tell mavunites that people hated on are people too.

  3. This is such a challenge and those examples you quote are such an amazing testimony of the Spirit’s life-transforming to-Christ-conforming power. Bwana asifiwe! Surely it is a rare thing to ‘do all things without grumbling… in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation’. Praise the God-man who was hated more than any of us will ever be and yet spoke love and forgiveness from the cross as he bled for twisted haters like me.

  4. Hh,
    For a long time I have been a supportive follower and employee. I tried to honour my bosses and submit to their authority, and when I did not do so, I knew it was wrong. Come in elections Dec 2007. I find my heart let down by the same authority that am supposed to honour. I do not know how to overcome these feelings toward both govt camps that had people slaughtered. I dont like seeing their faces on tv or print media so I avoid news. Yet, am supposed to honour them. I do NOT find it hard to honour an oppressive boss or my husband when he err’s. BUT those politicians are my undoing… how do I love and honour them. I want to.

  5. Hi Pastor M,
    God bless you for the month long teaching on honour. You said in the last sermon that if you can’t follow then you can’t lead. It’s a principle I’ve heard many times but I’m just realising now that I accept it because I consider it an honourable principle. But the more I think about it and try and pin it down – if I had to – I can’t really explain to myself or others why you can’t effectively lead if you can’t follow. Could you please give me a general overview on how that principle applies? Thanks!

  6. The challenge continues Pastor M. And its a BIG challenge. At a time when those in government cannot assure us of mediacl care (Docs on strike), power, gas, fuel, good roads, food, security, real documents (Syokimau) etc I am sure you will agree that it is increasingly difficult not to be angry; not to hate. That said, we must play our rightful role of getting those in positions of responsibility to be accountable. Thanks for taking leadership in getting the rest of us get things in perspective and do the right thing.

  7. Heeeey!so i wasnt so enthusiastic abt the whole honour thing,was so used 2 talking ill of my bosses n tearing them down with my words.and however hard i tried to stop i couldnt!!All i could do was pray for my mind to be renewed…so anyway,a few days ago wen speaking with my colleagues,it suddenly hit me that i hadnt spoken a single mean word about my bosses for a couple of weeks!!As in I stopped without even realizing!God worked within me n changed me almost without my noticing!What was once second nature to me now seems like such an alien concept!!Thank you Jesus:):)its amazing i tell ya!

Leave a Reply

