When It Doesn’t Make Sense

My One Year Bible reading today launched me off on what’s probably my least favorite book of the bible… the book of Job. Not one I turn to for recreational reading, I tell you! I know it has some great lessons but I sometimes feel it potrays God as a bored, clueless yet all-powerful potentate who turns over his best agent to a wicked, conniving enemy (no government I know would do that) just to win a bet or proove a point! Just keeping it real here… I guess part of my discomfort with the book is that I don’t enjoy the thought of suffering, especially seemingly meaningless suffering! I’m not a fan of situations when I’m not in control… when life doesn’t make sense. So I’m asking Papa to help me not shut out what I’m reading but to gain wisdom from it.

So not long after I had done my reading today, I came across this poem on the internet who’s author I couldn’t trace. All I can say is… wow!

WAIT (Author Unknown)

Desperately, helplessly, longingly, I cried.
Quietly, patiently, lovingly God replied.
I pled and I wept for a clue to my fate,
And the Master so gently said, “Child, you must wait!”

Wait?, you say, wait!” my indignant reply.
” Lord, I need answers, I need to know why!
Is Your hand shortened? Or have You not heard?
By FAITH I have asked, and am claiming Your Word.”

“My future and all to which I can relate
Hangs in the balance, and You tell me to WAIT?
I’m needing a ‘yes,’ a go-ahead sign,
Or even a ‘no’ to which I can resign.”

“And Lord, You promised that if we believe
We need but to ask, as we shall receive.
And Lord, I’ve been asking, and this is my cry:
I’m weary of asking! I need a reply!”

Then quietly, softly, I learned of my fate
As my Master replied once again, “You must wait.”
So, I slumped in my chair, defeated and taut
And grumbled to God, “So, I’m waiting…for what?”

He seemed then to kneel and His eyes wept with mine,
And He tenderly said, “I could give you a sign.
I could shake the heavens, and darken the sun.
I could raise the dead, and cause mountains to run.
All you seek, I could give, and pleased you would be.
You would have what you want — but, you wouldn’t know ME.”

“You’d not know the depth of My love for each saint;
You’d not know the power that I give to the faint;
You’d not learn to see through the clouds of despair;
You’d not learn to trust just by knowing I’m there;
You’d not know the joy of resting in Me
When darkness and silence were all you could see.”

“You’d never experience that fullness of love
As the peace of My Spirit descends like a dove;
You’d know that I give and I save … (for a start),
But you’d not know the depth of the beat of My heart.”

The flow of My comfort late into the night,
The faith that I give when you walk without sight,
The depth that’s beyond getting just what you asked
Of an infinite God, who makes what you have LAST.”

“You’d never know, should your pain quickly flee,
What it means that ‘My grace is sufficient for thee.’
Yes, your dreams for your loved ones overnight would come true,
But, oh, the loss! if I lost what I’m doing in you!”

“So, be silent, my child, and in time you will see
T
hat THE GREATEST OF GIFTS IS TO GET TO KNOW ME.
And though oft may My answers seem terribly late,
My wisest of answers is still but to WAIT.”

Not an easy reply. But helpful nonetheless. If you’re going through a tough time of waiting right now, I hope this is encouraging to you. If you’ve struggled with feeling the book of Job like me, I hope this gives you some extra perspective!

God bless and have a great week!

14 responses to “When It Doesn’t Make Sense

  1. I have been waiting for a while Pastor M and for some reason today after i think a whole year of not logging on to this site i decide to check it out. Just two minutes ago i just told myself to give up its not going to happen for me. Waiting is hard, i even think Job was superhuman to have undergone all that and not given up. Im not Job. I feel like God forgets this sometimes (just being real) i mean i have used the word of God to speak into my situations but at the end of the day i go to bed asking myself, whats going on how come the word isnt working for me and how am i supposed to keep on believing amidst all the negativity around me. Job’s story is encouraging but at the same time i feel like im not Job and so how am i supposed to continue trusting. Frustration, exhaustion and dissapointment put together is what i feel. So what do i do….honestly im just trying to forget that i even trusted in the first place, coz God knows its even more difficult waking up with expectation in ur heart and going to bed at the end of the day the same way. Its like putting urslef at a risk of being dissapointed everyday. The bible says the expectation of the righteous shall not be cut off so when everyday ur not seeing any change its so confusing it becomes hard to pray.Im out of the country right now hoping to come back one day with a testimony. thanks for sharing this Pastor M i feel u on the job passage i cant remember when last i read it! (im still in Deut in the one year bible reading plan…yeah i know i have a lot of catching up to do

  2. Steadfastness in believing doth not exclude all temptations from without.When we say a tree is firmly rooted, we do not say the
    wind never blows upon it..jus read this somewhere…thanks for sharing that msg pastor m

  3. Hi Pst.M

    Thanks for sharing this post. I’ve been having a random plan for my QT but when I saw the current reading is on Job, I thought to get on board albeit late.

    I love the book of Job coz the first time I read it I was @ a place of disgruntledness (if there’s such a word) and was really in awe that he worshipped God despite.

    One of my challenges was I didn’t have the One Year Bible & actually went to look for it yesterday – they’re out of stock. But in my distress the Lord answered me by directing me to http://www.oneyearbibleonline.mobi

  4. I knew the story of Job based on what I was taught in Sunday school and in CRE class. I never took the time to study the book of Job because I felt I knew the premise of the story. I also felt that Job was of a higher standard than I was; I couldn’t bear anywhere near what he did. We find it hard to relate to Job primarily because we have not experienced the extreme trials that Job had to endure. However, somewhere on this earth are people who are currently experiencing unspeakable trials. Some of them may be reading the book of Job and are gaining strength because if Job made it through then so can they.
    Here are some of lessons from Job that are worth exploring:
    -God is aware of our trials in fact sometimes He selects us to experience them. But He only gives us what we can bear and limits the powers of the devil. I believe when God asked Satan to consider his Servant Job; He knew Job would put the devil to shame. – Job 1:6-8 One day the angels came to present themselves before the LORD, and Satan also came with them. 7 The LORD said to Satan, “Where have you come from?” Satan answered the LORD, “From roaming throughout the earth, going back and forth on it.” 8 Then the LORD said to Satan, “Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.”
    Suffering comes to both good and bad people. God doesn’t respect persons. Jesus Christ suffered and yet He was free of sin. I think this teaches us that it is part of the Christian life to experience trials because we are always fighting the adversary. Most times our greatest revelations come to us when we are at our weakest; but the light that comes into our life maintains us even for a lifetime.
    -Satan wants us to only bless God when things are going well but curse or abandon God when things get difficult. – Job 1:9 -11 “Does Job fear God for nothing?” Satan replied. 10 “Have you not put a hedge around him and his household and everything he has? You have blessed the work of his hands, so that his flocks and herds are spread throughout the land. 11 But now stretch out your hand and strike everything he has, and he will surely curse you to your face.”
    Job demonstrated that we can still trust and glorify God even when things are bad. This is the definition of true Faith. It wasn’t easy for Job but he made through.
    -Job teaches us that we can’t be self confident or content with things that we own materially and/ or physically. When our possessions, status in society, dignity, etc are stripped away from us; who are we? We are nothing without those things but with God we are worth more than gold and we have our treasure built up in heaven.
    – Job 38 are God’s own words to Job. God silences Job by reminding Him that He is our Almighty God; all knowing. God has the big picture and He knows where He is leading us to and He knows what each of us needs. God has power over everything; He knows what is going on and nothing is impossible for God!

    God bless you!

  5. I knew the story of Job based on what I was taught in Sunday school and in CRE class. I never took the time to study the book of Job because I felt I knew the premise of the story. I also felt that Job was of a higher standard than I was; I couldn’t bear what he did. We find it hard to relate to Job primarily because we have not experienced the extreme trials that Job had to endure. However, somewhere on this earth are people who are currently experiencing unspeakable trials. Some of them may be reading the book of Job and are gaining strength because if Job made it through then so can they.
    Here are some of lessons from Job that are worth exploring:
    -God is aware of our trials in fact sometimes He recommends us to experience them. But He only gives us what we can bear and limits the powers of the devil. I believe when God asked Satan to consider his Servant Job; He knew Job would put the devil to shame. – Job 1:6-8 One day the angels came to present themselves before the LORD, and Satan also came with them. 7 The LORD said to Satan, “Where have you come from?” Satan answered the LORD, “From roaming throughout the earth, going back and forth on it.” 8 Then the LORD said to Satan, “Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.”
    Suffering comes to both good and bad people. God doesn’t respect persons. Jesus Christ suffered and yet He was free of sin. I think this teaches us that it is part of the Christian life to experience trials because we are always fighting the adversary. Most times our greatest revelations come to us when we are at our weakest; but the light that comes into our life maintains us even for a lifetime.
    -Satan wants us to only bless God when things are going well but curse or abandon God when things get difficult. – Job 1:9 -11 “Does Job fear God for nothing?” Satan replied. 10 “Have you not put a hedge around him and his household and everything he has? You have blessed the work of his hands, so that his flocks and herds are spread throughout the land. 11 But now stretch out your hand and strike everything he has, and he will surely curse you to your face.”
    Job demonstrated that we can still stand and glorify God even when things are bad. This is the definition of Real Faith.
    -Job teaches us that we can’t be self confident or content with things that we own materially and/ or physically. When our possessions, status in society, dignity, etc are stripped away from us; who are we? We are nothing without those things but with God we are worth more than gold and we have our treasure in heaven.
    – Job 38 are God’s own word to Job. God reminds Job that He is our Almighty God and He is all knowing. God has the big picture and He wants to trust and depend on Him. God has power over everything and nothing is impossible for Him.

  6. Hi all I have just come from a period of waiting and even after all that no answers came, I think I am learning to just let God be God as hard as that is. When I look back I realize that was really tough but I did make it out. If you are waiting,just wait.
    Thanks Pasi for this

  7. At least you’re reading Job! I’m reading Chronicles where they go into such details as allocations of the watchmen guarding the temple!!! WHAT!!?? So I ask myself how I could possibly get a “word” from my morning devotions. But seriously, Job is not an enjoyable book. I wonder, for you and I who know how the story ends – and we don’t like the reading – how much more Job who actually didn’t know what God and Satan were up to!? I once went for prayers when I was so frustrated with life at the prayer tent and the lady who prayed with me shared the Job story with me. I’ve heard “things will be alright” and even told people, but I don’t think I believe that for myself… Trust is not an easy thing – much as we know our life is in God’s hands 🙂

  8. After a rather Hemotional jana that has blessed me sana, it reminded me of the poem below:

    Author Unknown

    When God wants to drill a man,
    And thrill a man,
    And skill a man
    When God wants to mold a man
    To play the noblest part;

    When He yearns with all His heart
    To create so great and bold a man
    That all the world shall be amazed,
    Watch His methods, watch His ways!

    How He ruthlessly perfects
    Whom He royally elects!
    How He hammers him and hurts him,
    And with mighty blows converts him

    Into trial shapes of clay which
    Only God understands;
    While his tortured heart is crying
    And he lifts beseeching hands!

    How He bends but never breaks
    When his good He undertakes;
    How He uses whom He chooses,
    And which every purpose fuses him;
    By every act induces him
    To try His splendor out-
    God knows what He’s about.

  9. @LK,I feel you on saying Job was super human. Waiting is one rough road to take. I am in that road right now. Just as job lost his everything within one season, I did too. I lost my job, I lost my business,www.kimathiinformationcentre.com, I lost my family and I lost my house in Langata and had to move in with my Mum. I lost my family. My girlfriend left with my son to Uganda. I have been asking God to just give me a sign. He is working slowly towards me knowing Him and trusting Him for every endeavor. I love my son Taji http://jose-kic.blogspot.com/ I need him back. I need my girlfriend back. God gimme a sign please….. 😦

  10. Ngunjiri Bro. I feel you and also feel like Jobs friends…just sitting in silence trying to understand what is happening. God in Jesus name you are fully aware of the situation of Ngunjiri. I plead for your divine intervention into His situation in Jesus’ Mighty Name Amen

  11. Pingback: 2011 in review | Pastor M's Blog

Leave a Reply

