The Journey Begins…


Started reading through the One Year Bible today. If you’re interested in following along or are simply looking for a New Year’s Resolution that will add value to your life, please follow along! You can find the reading plan on the Mavuno website or sermon blog.

The best part is you don’t have to start at the beginning; just start with the reading on the day you begin! You can choose to read just the Old Testament, the New Testament or Psalms and Proverbs, or you can be like me and do all of them. All it will take is a commitment to put aside 20 minutes every day in a quite space, pray and ask God for insight and then read. As you read, listen to hear if God gives you any specific instruction and commit to apply or obey right away.

Today’s reading had the powerful idea of God’s Spirit pondering over darkness, chaos and formlessness and visualizing and then creating something beautiful. As someone made in God’s image, we too have the potential to create beauty out of darkness. In fact, this is our purpose and destiny! I believe it’s God’s intention for my generation to bring beauty and order out of the chaos in our city and continent.

I pray that in 2011, I will play a part in pushing back the darkness and bringing order to this city that I was born in. Amen.

One response to “The Journey Begins…

  1. I am always caught by the sermons coz I always get something to ponder on but like the bereans’ I always go back to read for myself. However, last Sunday’s sermon left me wondering why I should come and eat the already chewed food. Do I need the church then if the pastors feed me like the mother’s of old, with ‘ndauko’?
    Pastor M let me know why as much as the Bible in Acts 42; talks of fellowship of believers why I should take the half chewed. Do I need the church then?
    I pray that power doesn’t get into our heads and we say the wrong thing due to pride. I say this with all due respect and may the Lord bless you.

Leave a Reply

