What Next?

Over the last couple of months, I and a tribe of people passionate to go the extra mile have read devotionally through the book of Daniel. Each day, we prayed that God would give us practical wisdom that we could apply at work. The book actually has two parts one; part one which we focused on is Daniel’s biography and part two comprises descriptions of prophetic visions that this incredibly successful public official had during the course of his career.

For those of you who’ve walked this journey with me, I trust that you’ve not only been blessed in the process but that you’ve learnt how to daily read and apply God’s word for yourself. That’s a vital practice for you if you are serious about ‘playing to win’ in life.

So, what to read/study next? Not sure! I’m thinking starting next Monday of reading through the book of Ephesians, James or Romans. I try to vary the diet by following a foray in the Old Testament with one from the new. If you’re pretty new at this, you might prefer to start with Mark, one of the gospels that talks about the life of Jesus.

As usual, the plan is find a quiet slot in your day, at least 20-30 minutes. Early mornings work really well for me. Pray and ask God to give you wisdom for your day as you read. Then as you read the section (can read a chapter a day or even less – perhaps you can read what feels like a natural section and then stop there) listen to what God may be saying to you.

Note if the section you read challenges you to change something in your life, confess a sin to God, follow the example of a certain person or obey a command God is giving. Write down whatever you sense God may be saying in a journal. And finally end with prayer, committing yourself to obey whatever God has said that day and also praying for any specific assignments you have that day in whatever area of your life.

Some people like to use devotional guides to give them a thought to reflect on every day. I prefer to get my daily brief neat; directly from the bottle! The bible is not just another inspirational book. It’s our daily bread – without it, we starve our ability to thrive at work and in our relationships. Here are some verses that talk about the benefits of regularly studying it…

Brings prosperity: Joshua 1:8 ‘Do not let this book of the law depart from your mouth. Meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful’

Defends us: Ephesians 6:17 ‘… the sword of the Spirit… is the word of God’

Helps us obey: Hebrews 4:12 ‘God means what he says. What he says goes. His powerful Word is sharp as a surgeon’s scalpel, cutting through everything, whether doubt or defense, laying us open to listen and obey. Nothing and no one is impervious to God’s Word’ (The Message)

Builds our faith: Romans 10:17 ‘Faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ’

Prepares us for our purpose: 2 Timothy 3:15 ‘Every part of Scripture is God-breathed and useful one way or another – showing us truth, exposing our rebellion, correcting our mistakes, training us to live God’s way. Through the Word we are put together and shaped up for the tasks God has for us’ (The Message)

So, please comment and let me know what you’re planning to reading/study next. And also how I can pray for you as you do so.

Have a great weekend. Peace.

10 responses to “What Next?

  1. Thanks Pastor M for leading us through the book of Daniel, its been a wonderful experience and it has given me a fresh perspective. I need diligence and discipline to study the word daily fresh from the source without relying on a devotional guide(very addictive)and that is my prayer for this month. God bless

  2. Hey Pastor M,
    Been following this albeit quietly and I have gotten habituated to getting the brief neat! I was a devotionals person but I rather like this style. My reading this time around is unusual though. Going through 1 Sam and loving it but also reading a chapter of Proverbs by the side. In high school I heard someone say there is a reason the book of Proverbs is 31 chapters long; there is a chapter for each day.

    For the decisive post on Structure for the People, blessings for taking courage to speak like that. I would want to tweet and FB the post because this is a word that needs to be heard and heard now.
    Baraka Tele!

  3. Pastor M,

    Nothing related to your posting, but can we start updating the sermons on site again. I am based in Zambia, a one time Mavuno visitor and have been a Mavunite eversince.

  4. Hi Pst. M, its been such a gr8 journey. I thank God that I’ve been able to walk this far. I intend to finish the book of Daniel. Then the book of James has been jumping @ me on so many occasions and so that’s what I plan to read. Pray that despite my busy-ness, I’ll ALWAYS prioritize God and like Daniel, I will be a person who daily resolves to walk with God. Thanks Pst. God bless you mpaka ushangae!

  5. Hi Pastor M,

    I have been following your devotions on Daniel and loved the way they applied to the workplace. Out of that inspiration, my 3 friends and I are starting a devotion from the book of James, and reading a chapter a week then meeting to discuss what we are learning.

  6. Pastor EM,

    I have read the book of Daniel before lakini the discourse you are taking is mind blowing!! It opens up fresh and new horizons on the way Daniel dedicated his life to God irrespective of his surroundings! Ahsante sana. Very eye opening.

  7. Hey Pastor M,
    I have thoroughly enjoyed these 2 months we went through Daniel. I particularly loved the style of preaching which involved most of us reading through the book which has up-ed our reading so to speak.
    We are always talking about WWJD(What Would Jesus Do?) and internally I purpose to study the life of Jesus. What situations he was in, what his reactions were & thought process and state of his heart & his relationship with God.
    So for me, My study is on the gospels!
    Be ye blessed & give us your prayer request as well & we’ll pray with you.

  8. Hi Pastor M,
    Didnt manage to come to church last Sunday had to go and see my cousin in Maralal. kenya is big.
    Thanks again for the previous weeks sermon, i discovered i have actually been a victim of envy and it explains my current situation… i confessed my sin and prayed for Gods wisdom. My friend sent me a link to a song and i was compelled to share it with you. I pictured us singing it in church next Sunday during the offertory. It just won me over it just humbled me before God. please enjoy it.

    Good bless.

    Steve

  9. Pst M thanks i thoroughly enjoyed reading thru the book of Daniel, it was refreshing and quite insightful to apply age old principles to our current lives. God is the same yesterday today and forever more. am back to reading Exodus

  10. Hallo Pst.M,
    I have enjoyed going thru the bk of Daniel with you, this has been a great two months.I am also doing Mizizi, and I just wanted to say, I’ve been a christian many yrs, and I have never heard the talk on finances given in such a practical way, God bless you so much for this.My dad is a Pastor and I plan to get him that bk on finances, I am sure it will help him and his congregation too, may God continually increase you, you are such a blessing.

Leave a Reply

