Achille’s Heel

Allow me to begin today by expressing my condolences and sympathy towards those Kenyans whose family members lost their lives or were injured on Sunday evening, as they sought to exercise their democratic right of assembly at Uhuru Park. It’s difficult to imagine who would plan and execute such a heinous act. Whoever it was wanted to affect a certain outcome, and human life was a small cost for them to pay. Regardless of whether your sympathies are for or against the enactment of the proposed constitution, I urge all citizens who love this great nation to unite and refuse to let fear, hatred and darkness rule over us.

A healthy democracy without a moral foundation is a recipe for anarchy. In this, the ongoing World Cup holds lessons for us. As unhappy as the Serbians were to lose to Ghana, Serbia has not recalled its envoys or cancelled its trade with Ghana! We can agree to disagree without demonizing, caricaturing or otherwise maligning those who hold a different opinion. We need to accept one another, recognizing that after this referendum, we will all still be Kenyans, and that regardless of the result, will need to work together to create a better future for our children. That’s what this constitutional conversation is about in the first place.

I pray that our national leaders will spare no effort to bring those involved to justice. And that both sides of the campaign, including the media, will resist the temptation to create political capital from the suffering of fellow citizens. We must unite in standing against injustice, regardless of who is harmed by it.

I was struck today as I read Daniel 6:5-9, by the fact that the king’s advisors hid their agenda from him by massaging his ego. They knew his weakness and exploited it to carry out their political agenda against an innocent man. The people who work with you most likely can see your Achilles heel. Achilles heel refers to the one place where you are vulnerable; or the weakest link of your chain; do you know it yourself? Can you mend it before others use it to bring you down?

Lord, open my eyes today that I may recognize where there are moral Achilles heels in my life. And then show me how to deal with them. In the words of Psalm 139:23-4 (The Message), ‘Investigate my life, O God, find out everything about me; Cross-examine and test me, get a clear picture of what I’m about; See for yourself whether I’ve done anything wrong – then guide me on the road to eternal life’. AMEN

2 responses to “Achille’s Heel

Leave a Reply

