What’s In It For Me?

Many times when we’re deciding whether to do something or not, the deciding factor is what we stand to gain or lose. If I was paid every time I stopped at a red light, or alternatively if there was a cop waiting to arrest me every time I didn’t, then I wouldn’t think twice about it. Same goes for paying my taxes, stopping to help someone in need, resisting sexual temptation, refusing to engage in gossip, etc.

In our reading (Daniel 5:13-17), the terrified king offered Daniel huge rewards and a powerful government position if he could interpret his dream. But Daniel refused to take advantage of the king’s fear. He refused to do the right thing for the wrong reasons. Daniel was a righteous man. Being righteous simply means he did the right thing because it was the right thing.

Lord, I confess that I often do the right things for the wrong reasons. Or sometimes I fail to do the right thing because it’s not convenient for me. Help me today, to do the right thing because it’s the right thing. AMEN

One response to “What’s In It For Me?

Leave a Reply

