Too Little, Too Late

I talked to one of my good friends yesterday who knew exactly what the church should be doing regarding the constitutional debate. After listening to his very convincing argument, I asked him whether he could call a group of people together and create a team to do what he was strongly suggesting. After all, the church is you and me! He hemmed and hawed and generally wasn’t ready to commit. I suspect he’s too busy running his business to give the time.

Many times, we see things around us that are wrong or that could be much better and yet do or say nothing about it. Usually, the biggest culprit is fear. Other times, it’s just not convenient to intervene. Or we figure it’s not our job – someone else with more authority should be doing something about it. Or sometimes when we intervene, we do so in an uncaring manner that only criticizes but doesn’t offer solutions. As a song once said, ‘everybody knows that anybody could do all the good things that nobody did!’

In our reading (Daniel 5:10-12), the queen (most likely Belshazzar’s mom and Nebuchadnezzar’s daughter) had not been invited to the rowdy party or perhaps had not cared to attend. Yet she seemed to know exactly what the problems in the kingdom were, and where to find the solutions. She implied her son’s behavior did not match up to the kingly behavior of Nebuchadnezzar. She recommended he immediately consult with Daniel. And she was right of course, on all counts. The problem is that her advice came too late to save her son or her country.

The prophet Ezekiel spoke about the problem God has finding people who care enough to intervene on behalf of others. “I looked for someone who might rebuild the wall of righteousness that guards the land. I searched for someone to stand in the gap in the wall so I wouldn’t have to destroy the land, but I found no one” (Ezekiel 22:30)

Lord, help me not to wait until it’s too late to intervene before I act. I pray that things will not go wrong in my family, my company, or my country on my watch and when I can still do something about it. AMEN

6 responses to “Too Little, Too Late

  1. Thanks Pastor M. always bringing our the best in us and make us think deeper… FEAR is what keeps us from reaching our full potential. I read something and it opened my eyes…

    “The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing.” -Albert Einstein

  2. OK,this post just speaks to me directly,i happen to be one of those people that are solution oriented i always know what to do and when,better said someone even told me i could make a career out of crisis management.anyway needless to say i have ideas but getting down to do it is just a problem.I’m good at shipping off the idea to someone else to execute it instead of me.well i must say i am really trying to work on this,i actually started on something i had been avoiding by all means,yay!!!!….thanks Pastor M for yet another thought provoking post.

  3. Hi Pastor M,

    Recieve cordial christian greetings.

    I have been to mavuno twice for the second service and Pastor your sermons are great and up-to-date though out of curiosity on 30th May 2010 I noticed your ring was on the right hand and on 6th June 2010 it was on the left hand. Could it be a pattern or by default? Am looking forward to next sunday’s service and the positioning.

    God bless you.

    J.K

  4. ….Or sometimes when we intervene, we do so in an uncaring manner that only criticizes but doesn’t offer solutions….

    Lord forgive us and seal our lips with wisdom to communicate the burden you have given us with wisdom

  5. Amen.I love this and it is so real, I can see things around me that need fixing, and I am trying to work at being more proactive , yet sometimes I still want to hem and haw as you put it, so thanks again for stating the facts, I am here because I can make a difference, before it’s too late.God bless you Pastor M , for giving it straight, and may He always meet you at your point of whatever need.

  6. Pastor M you have blessed my life with this series so much and i feel more confident to handle so many issues not only in the workplace but also in other areas like relationships with family and friends.Doing what we know is right is very very hard:-(((especially when it comes to pointing out issues that we know are wrong…and especially to those who are in authority.It is one of those situations where the phrase”easier said than done”totally applies. Surely grace and wisdom from our loving Father is the only solution.But i guess the big question that would bother me or anyone else is i’m i ready to deal with the consequences of pointing out these issues???
    (sorry for the repeating the comment.Had commented under another post:-)))

Leave a Reply

