Who Will Burn With Me?

Today’s reading is about the miraculous fireproofing miracle that happened when God refused to let His men burn. The greatest miracle though was the fact that God was clearly with them right there in the fire. But even before that, it must have been more than helpful that there was more than one person willing to face the fire, rather than go against their concience.

Very much appreciate all the feedback and comments from those of you who are reading through Daniel with me.Let me quote one on yesterday’s post by someone who called himself ‘confused guy’. Edited for brevity…

I am a single parent, I have school fees to pay, rent to pay, health insurance to pay, little eyes that look up to me when they are hungry or sick, no one to help in the home and you want me to fight my boss when he tells me to give a kickback A.K.A a bribe, to the procurement officer to get things moving with the tender or loss my job… sometimes after listening to sermons like this I question myself, and my faith and then I wonder am I really cut out to be a Christian, you see it’s so hard.

In the beginning of Daniel it says that there had been some other dudes apart from Daniel, Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego from royalty who had been selected.  I was thinking about what must have been going through their minds as they saw these three men standing up to the king and probably thinking to themselves “they must be mad”, but secretly admiring their guts and then probably watching them being thrown into the fire and seeing the miracle happen, where they did not burn and to add to it there was a fourth person in the fire with them and then hearing the King stating in Daniel 3:28 “May the God of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego be praised! He has sent his angel and saved his servants. They trusted in him. They refused to obey my command. They were willing to give up their lives. They would rather die than serve or worship any god except their own God.”

And in their mind these other guys secretly feeling guilty and perhaps even jealous of not having joined Shadrack and his friends in the fire, secretly hating themselves. I was thinking, ‘lord, I am those other guys from Judah. In my heart I enjoy listening to those great stories such as that of Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego but I am so scared to death to test my faith’.

By the end of last Sunday’s sermon, I was so energized, excited especially by that last part of the Daniel 3:17″But we want you to know this. Even if we knew that our God wouldn’t save us, we still wouldn’t serve your gods. We wouldn’t worship the gold statue you set up.”  But as usual in the market place where we have targets, by Tuesday I was so beaten down all these was watered down, and instead what are we to do… am I bad pastor?  Am I like Judas who sold Christ for 30 pieces of silver?

Confused guy, I won’t pretend to understand the pressure of being a single parent with mouths to feed. You are in a tough position alright. Here’s the thing though… God’s word has to be relevant for someone in your position; otherwise it’s irrelevant for everyone else! He says in 1Corinthians10:13, ‘No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful. He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it’.

I commend your desire to want to stand up for what’s right. God must have surely put it there. And the only reason He could have done so is because He wants you to succeed. He has a way out for you. He created you not to be ‘confused guy’ but ‘confident guy’

I will not attempt to give you answers for your specific situation. But here’s a thought that might help. The guys stood together. You’ve said you have no one to help in the home. One of the things we say at Mavuno that the book of Daniel clearly portrays is that you can never be great alone. You need like-minded people that you can share openly with and who will pray with you, encourage you and help you think through solutions. And who even will stand in the fire with you. At Mavuno, we provide an opportunity to form such friends through our Life Groups. You join these after you do the Mizizi course.

Lord, thanks that you created me to win in life, regardless of the odds. Thanks too for the friends you’ve raised around me that are willing to stand in the fire with me.  Help me to be keenly aware of Your Presence in all I do today. AMEN

One response to “Who Will Burn With Me?

  1. Hi Pastor, i love you passion and i am always following your updates and in fact these devotionals. This was a great encouragement to the ‘confused guy’ there. And it shows how as pastors we struggle to apply the words of God at very difficult circumstances. I admire your honest.But i was a little bit worried that you said that God put those words there because he wants him to succeed. I always find such statements very confusing especially to our listeners – and especially when not defined what you mean. For many out there, it means success that they will be wealthy. what happens is that because God has not promised to make us wealthy, people end up thinking either they do not enough faith (as many would preach) or God is not true. We need to be very clear especially in our Kenyan context what we mean by this. Sometimes God will put us on such circumstances for long – sometimes for life. Yet we must hold on to him. We need to know that.

Leave a Reply

