My First Boss

The three young men decided to draw the line. They could have decided to go with the flow because everyone else was doing it. They could have decided to bow outwardly while not really conforming inwardly. But they realized that even though they were civil servants, they were first of all servants of the Most High. And this meant that as intimidating as the setting was, they needed to obey their first boss who was God.

I need to remember that it is God who appointed me to serve in the workplace. He expects me to submit to and honor my earthly authorities including my boss (Romans 13), but when that authority asks me to do something that clearly contravenes God’s word, then I am left with no choice but to honor God first. Like Peter and John before the governing council, we must choose to obey God rather than men (Acts 4:19)

Lord, please help me remember in all I do today that You are my first boss.
AMEN

One response to “My First Boss

  1. it puzzles me why we (including myself)constantly forget God is our number one boss,we forget his will is good and perfect(even when it doesn’t seem like it) and we want to follow earthly leaders in doing wrong most of whom don’t really have our best interests at heart.that is a question i have not found an answer to but i know for sure doing what is right by God first and foremost is the first rule of life..i pray that i will adhere to it even when it is so difficult…thanks pastor M for the word.by the way you can check out http://kairetutalking.blogspot.com/ it is a rather thought provoking blog about life….baraka.

Leave a Reply

