Chasing After The Wind

When it comes to politics, it’s easy to get so caught up in the immediate that we lose perspective of ultimate reality. Nebuchadnezzar’s dream (Daniel 2:25-45) was a sober reminder. Even though he was the most powerful ruler on earth, his time would come to pass, and he would be replaced by others. But ultimately, the only kingdom that would last forever was the divine rule established by God himself.

This is a good reality check for us also. We sometimes get so caught up in the immediacy of our careers or businesses that we lose perspective. We forget that all human achievements pass away and that only what we do for Christ will last. If my career building is not contributing to God’s eternal kingdom purposes, then the bible calls it ‘vanity, a chasing after the wind’ (Ecclesiastes 2:11).  No one with their last breath wishes they’d made more money or earned more degrees. While these things are important, they are only God-given tools, to help us achieve our God-designed eternal purpose. We forget this at our peril!

Lord, help me remember that all the perks and privileges of my position are simply tools to help me achieve Your eternal purpose. Help me today to stay in tune with you so that every conversation I’m in, email I send or meeting I attend brings glory to You and helps advance Your kingdom purpose. AMEN

3 responses to “Chasing After The Wind

  1. walalala… thats so powerful “Help me today to stay in tune with you so that every conversation I’m in, email I send or meeting I attend brings glory to You and helps advance Your kingdom purpose”

    being Christ-like is an every day walk and we need to put on love, humility, self control and apply these fruits in our day to day lives. sometimes we often think that in the Corporate world we have to be tough and mean to get ahead. but what do we gain? the World and material things?
    we should continue to seek God first and surely all these things will be added onto us as well.

    thanks Pst M that prayer was profound. i will re-evaluate my Christian walk in the office, how i respond to colleagues, emails, meetings esp when we may disagree…we must learn to do everything in love 1Cor 16: 14

  2. Thanks Pastor M,
    For reminding me what’s truly important.It is easy to loose sight and focus on earthly achievements.It is indeed my prayer that today and the rest of my days i shall conduct myself in a manner that glorifies His kingdom.

  3. 2 things stood out for me on Sunday:

    Pst M’s prayer: Lord help me step aside so that You may have Your way ~ something like that

    Pst M’s statement: I wake up @ 3am to pray because I really need God

    Yaani me too I’m re-evaluating this walk that I talk about. Thanks Pasi for this post. May ur cup run over

Leave a Reply

