In God I Trust

Hey, thanks for all your comments people. Keep them coming! I feel some real empathy for the king’s employees in today’s reading (Daniel2:13-16). Talk about an impossible work assignment! They were ordered to do something no one else in their field had ever done and threatened with loss of everything including their lives if they couldn’t deliver! An impossible task with impossible deadlines set by an unreasonable and suspicious boss. This was clearly beyond their competence… Their response? Panic!

Daniel’s different though. Though he may have felt the emotion of fear, his response is to ask for audience with the angry king. He politely but firmly requested for time to solve the problem. Psalm 27:1 says ‘the Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?’ When we fear earthly bosses or authorities, we elevate them to godlike status; we lose our own sense of worth, we forget who our true boss is.

Lord, help me to trust you and not fear men.  Help me to honor those in authority and yet to always, like the apostles ‘ obey God rather than men’ (Acts 5:29). Help me be calm, regardless of whatever crisis comes my way, because even when I don’t know the answer, I know who holds the answers. As Psalm 56:3-4 says, “When I am afraid, I will trust in you. In God, whose word I praise, in God I trust; I will not be afraid. What can mortal man do to me?”

5 responses to “In God I Trust

  1. U’ve got to cut king neb some sluk here. Th guy must hav goten circumstantial interpretations b4. Seers n sorcerers (were thy sorcerer ama astrologers) cn pretend 2 interpret a dream by just adressing generalities. If at all thy had th power 2 interpret, thy cud as well hav named th dream.

  2. What I resolve today determines my success tomorrow!

    That is a powerful statement.

    I used to blow my top thoroughly, akuna kuficha! I am a supervisor at my job and I have resolved to mentor my staff better by smiling more and being GENUINELY KIND. For real, I asked for wisdom and I humbly say, I have received and continue to receive it for every situation.

    I pray for you that God will sustain you and grow you as you shape us into fearless and extraordinary people. God’s blessings to you and the entire Mavuno Family.

  3. The assignments given by Nebuchadnezzar are not as outlandish as they seem at a first glance. I looked at my performance targets for this year and they seem like that, (IMPOSSIBLE) and there are sanctions for non performance which are not as severe as loss of life but sometimes non performance and the feeling of being a failure sucks the life out of someone. You lose sleep, its constantly on your mind so its difficult to participate in the other facets of life. It can kill you in other ways.
    Anyway, I copied my targets yesterday and put them in my Journal and during QT I laid them before the Lord and went over them. No light bulbs have gone on but I intend to do that daily so He can show me how to go about them, I know he can give me the wisdom I need to meet them. For the first time I’m not dreading appraisal time.

  4. Pastor M,
    Wow.
    When we read this chapter for the sermon on sunday, i felt like that was me. On saturday(day before), I had come from a meeting with our bosses, where they explicitly stated that we would have to achieve ‘unrealistic’ targets or go home. Well, they may have not been unrealistic to some of the team members. I am new in the department, still on probation/internship, and i thought, wow, how now can i do this? I was at a loss for ideas and a way forward with my life as regards my workplace. I was afraid.

    Your sermon on Sunday encouraged me . . Now the seemingly ‘Unrealistic Targets’ Look possible to me. By faith, wisdom and tact that i am trusting God for,all things are possible to them that love the Lord and are guided by his commands.

    Thank you.
    NK.

Leave a Reply

