Positional Leadership

It’s obvious to me from today’s passage (Daniel 2:1-11) that Nebuchadnezzar was a terrible boss! His leadership was based on the power of his office. He used threats and intimidation to get his team to perform. This type of leadership has also been referred to as positional leadership. Jesus calls for us to model a very different style of leadership at home and in the marketplace. In Matthew 20:25, He says, ‘You know that the rulers of the Gentiles lord it over them and their high officials exercise authority over them. Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first must be your slave – just as the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many’

It’s not always easy to be this kind of leader. After all there’s a job to get done! It’s so much easier to be like the king; to use the people to get the task done. But Jesus calls us to be leaders who use the task to build up the people. People led by such a leader serve not because they have to but because they want to.

Lord, you’ve assigned me leadership positions at work, in my home and in my extended family. In each of those spheres this week, please show me how to be a leader who serves. Give me a genuine love for all those who follow me that they may sense my concern and care for them. AMEN

5 responses to “Positional Leadership

  1. Gmorning Pastor M. i thank u so much for Sun sermon. my husband always asks me who is the head of our hse. i do tell him he is the head and God is our provider. but now all the dirty linen like the skunk r coming out in the open. we came to church togethr n after church i had to meet sm friends 4 lunch. he excused himself n decided to do his own errands. i did not object. apparently he went sat down smwhere n started drinkin… i had called him earlir n he was watchin a match…
    as a mother what he did when he came hm was unspeakable.. he stood on the corridor after staggerring along the hall way stood nxt to the kids room n pised on himself YAP u heard me right…. fell on one of the bicycle n damaged it hw wil i explain how they got spoilt???… i do not hate soccer but pliz pastor tell the men after the alcohol they take while watching their soccer to try n not do sm embarrassing things that even the (teki) hsegal will wonder whether he is sane or insane. u do not hv to take alcohol to enjoy soccer… now that world cup is around the corner more embarrassing days ahead for we women n more dirty linen put out there for the public to see. on behalf of all the women i know that God will work wonders this world cup!!!!!!
    concerned mavunite

  2. Hi pastor M,
    i have purposed to follow through with this weeks reading and share when i possibly can. The sermon yesterday was inspiring for me and i realised how easy things would be with we asked for and applied Gods wisdom in our work.

    I liked what you said today that we should not use people to get the task done but we should use the task to build the people.

    My take out from todays reading is the astrologers answer to the kings request.They said “there is no man on earth who can do what the king asks”. It reminds me of a situation that i am in right now. difficult task ahead.I guess the only king who asks us to do tasks that no man can do is the is our Lord for He knowns that He lives inside of use and that changes the story.
    Daniel was able to solve the crisis because of his relationship with the Lord.
    God wouldnt ask us to do what He has not provided the grace to thrive.
    I can do all things through Christ who strenghtens me.

  3. Hey Pastor M,

    My boss is like Nebuchadnezzar, she threatens and intimidates.
    It has been quite a challenge working under her coz nothing i do is good enough.
    I had to print that verse “work as unto God and not as unto man” and put it on my PC to keep me going.
    I try to submit to her authority and sometimes i find myself resenting her.
    I want to move to that place where i serve because i want to

    Thanks for the blogs they’ve been very helpful. God Bless you!

  4. Hey Pastor,

    Thank you for your blog that I just stumbled upon today as I searched more on the current Church’s stand on the Consitution. This piece on leadership is quite accurate. As a person who has worked in a number of NGOs, I have had a lot of problems with some senior management team members as my leadership concepts have always gone contrary to theirs. This is because I believe strongly that people are dependable so long as they are appreciated and allowed to make inputs in the organisations and not being seen as mere employees to follow orders. Due to this I have tended to have employees confide in me and open up which has not very much endeared me to some senior collegues. Some have taken this wrongly and seen it as a threat to their positions/centres of influence as I have been able to win the confidence of the other workers to the extent most (even from different departments)have sought my assistance in areas where I personally feel their direct supervisors would have been more approriate. As a result, am now finding this style of my leadership to be creating friction and apparent recentments from others as I have tended to champion staff welfare and equal treatment of all in contrast to some who like being the bossy and tyrant personalities. My problem now is that am finding it rather difficult to change my long held beliefs and actually this is jeopardizing my career progression as I have at times resigned from some organisations because of these conflicts.

  5. Wassup Pasi!

    I realised that one of the reasons I dont pray or rather 🙂 spend much time in prayer is coz I’ve 4 so long tried to do it in the morning yet I’m such a night person. So its been gr8 hooking up with God every evening since we started Daniel.

    Yaani the Lord totally bless the work of this blog. Have a gr8 rest of the week and may the Lord continue to bless and equip you, your family and the entire Mavuno family with contagious greatness.

Leave a Reply

