My job, God’s work…

In today’s passage (Daniel 1:3-5), the king orders his officials to select the brightest and the best among the Israelites and to give them scholarships in the most prestigious university on earth. Through it was the king who gave the order, God was working behind the scenes to create an opportunity for his people to prosper in a foreign land. The book of Daniel constantly affirms that it is God who appoints and dis-appoints. All jobs and positions are from Him (see 2:21, 4:32, 5:21, 5:28). Our work is an extension of God’s work on earth. 

Not every job is particularly fulfilling or spectacular. But as a Christian, I need to sign in at work as God’s employee and co-worker. This adds dignity to whatever work I am doing. 1 Corinthians 10:31 says, Whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God” Whatever workplace assignment I currently am in, I need to remember that God put me there and that He had a purpose in doing so. It is important that I discover and fulfill that purpose while I am there.

Prayer for today: Lord, open my eyes today at work so I can see and participate in the purpose that you have put me here for.  AMEN

5 responses to “My job, God’s work…

  1. This is profound! Thank you Pastor M, and amen to the prayer! Lord may I not miss out on your purpose for me in my work today!
    GBU!

  2. I have been battling with procrastination at work lately, this is what i needed to hear, thx for the encouragement.

  3. Wow, I have been struggling with my job and feeling very dissatisfied and kicking myself for not taking a job offer that came my way a few months ago(which felt like the best decision then). May be its time to change my prayer.

  4. I’ll definitely put up 1 Cor 10:31 by my desk so that whenever I’m tempted otherwise, I’ll have a reminder of what God wants me to do. Thanks Pasi.

Leave a Reply

