Wake Up Call

Every so often, it’s easy to lose sight of the big picture. It’s easy to want to go back to the things that gave me significance and a sense that my life was okay.

At such times, I need a wake-up call. Similar to the one Jesus gave to the 7 fishing disciples in John 21. Very graciously, Jesus called them back to their purpose. And as for Peter, who had disowned him three times, he went to the trouble of re-commissioning him three times… just to let him know that not only was he forgiven but he was invited back to where he belonged – back into his purpose.

I love it! Over 20 years ago, I gave my life to Christ. Even then, he had a unique purpose for me and accepting His leadership was a step towards discovering it. He brought me to Nairobi Chapel, led by Pst. Oscar Muriu, as a part of that journey. I haven’t always been faithful to follow, but He’s been gracious to keep calling me back. And today, He still daily summons me to follow Him into this great adventure. It’s a following that’s for the rest of my life, and it’s to purpose that will outlive me.

Thanks Lord for the gift of 40 years. I look forward to many more – following You and staying connected. There’s nothing else I’d rather be doing! AMEN

14 responses to “Wake Up Call

  1. Hi pstr m ave bn reading the bk of john wit u and realy learnt much nw wonderin wea nxt r we stil on?thnks God 4using u 2change malife

  2. Hey Pasi thanks for your inspiring messege.I look forward to reading your blog everyday.Hope you have recovered from jet lag.Looks like we share a birthday-25th is it.Happy birthday to us.

    I have not been reading the book of John with you but i look forward to reading the next book with you.

    I thank God for the leadership of Mavuno and for your continous insipration to serve the Lord.May God bless you all abudantly.May He be with you always.

  3. Pastor m, the journey of john is over? 😦 it ended with a bang. Let me tell you this journey has not been easy, i have been slipping back but this was the only thing that kept me in Christ. As in, even when i didn’t feel like, i would read just to hear what God was saying to you. Its been wonderful. From the prayers i have received, to the tears i have shed and finally to the forgiveness i have received over and over. May the Lord bless the commitment you have shown. You have fed these lambs with the love of Christ , you have shown compassion and taught us in gentleness. You are a wonderful ambassador of Christ. God bless you, pastor carol and your kids. May he bless the work of your hands and give you another 40 or more years of purpose and life in abundance. In Jesus name.

  4. Isnt it interesting to see how desyked we get and deflated we feel when our life and work does not seem to yeild results? Peter and the disciples falling back to old habits doing what they knew to do (fishing) now that they seem to have lost the company of one who gave them direction. They try to make their own way. Probably at this time with heavy hearts from how they denied and deserted their Lord.

    What a difference redemption makes. I can see the enthusiasm that comes back and passion when they are fruitful from obedience. When they realise its Jesus who is at the shore calling out to them. Peter is just an open book. He jumps into the water – the boat isnt fast enough! When Jesus asks for some fish he rushes back to the boat and drags the net in. He knows he finds his purpose and fulfilment in obeying Jesus. Peter follows and though it would be a life of challenges – it would end having glorified God all through even to the kind of death he would have. I notice Jesus asking Peter to work in HIS purpose and not to compare it with that of other disciples. The assignment is God’s business not his.

    What a privilege to get an account of Jesus’s life from the disciple whom Jesus loved.

    Dear God may I realise that my life would be meaningless, fruitless and a drugerry were I to loose companionship with you. May I strive to be connected and to develop my relationship with you to higher heights. May I remember that the purpose you call me to is independent of that of others and I should not compare myself to them. May I learn to walk my life uniquely and celebrate my uniqueness. Thank you for reconciling me back to you and directing my steps. I will follow where you lead me. Thank you because you are a loving father. Thank you so much for seeing me faithfully to the end of this journey at the beginning of another year in my life. May goodness and mercy follow me all the days of my life. In Jesus name I pray and believe. Amen

  5. Isnt it interesting to see how desyked we get and deflated we feel when our life and work does not seem to yeild results? Peter and the disciples falling back to old habits doing what they knew to do (fishing) now that they seem to have lost the company of one who gave them direction. They try to make their own way. Probably at this time with heavy hearts from how they denied and deserted their Lord.

    What a difference redemption makes. I can see the enthusiasm that comes back and passion when they are fruitful from obedience. When they realise its Jesus who is at the shore calling out to them. Peter is just an open book. He jumps into the water – the boat isnt fast enough! When Jesus asks for some fish he rushes back to the boat and drags the net in. He knows he finds his purpose and fulfilment in obeying Jesus. Peter follows and though it would be a life of challenges – it would end having glorified God all through even to the kind of death he would have. I notice Jesus asking Peter to work in HIS purpose and not to compare it with that of other disciples. The assignment is God’s business not his.

    What a privilege to get an account of Jesus’s life from the disciple whom Jesus loved.

    Dear God may I realise that my life would be meaningless, fruitless and a drugerry were I to loose companionship with you. May I strive to be connected and to develop my relationship with you to higher heights. May I remember that the purpose you call me to is independent of that of others and I should not compare myself to them. May I learn to walk my life uniquely and celebrate my uniqueness. Thank you for reconciling me back to you and directing my steps. I will follow where you lead me. Thank you because you are a loving father. Thank you so much for seeing me faithfully to the end of this journey at the beginning of another year in my life. May goodness and mercy follow me all the days of my life. In Jesus name I pray and believe.

    THE END!

  6. Hey Pastor M. Wishing you a Happy 40th birthday today! May the Lord enrich you, retain you as the Fearless leader you have become, increase you, give you favour and lead you in His grace. Most of all, give you all blessings He has to offer. Have fun at Mariners too.

  7. Happy birthday Pastor M.
    Even as you grow older, may He increase in you as you decrease.
    God bless.

  8. Happy Birthday Pastor M! Prayer and blessing for you is from Ephesians 3:16-19.

    I pray that out of his glorious riches He may strengthen you with power through His Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your heart through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

    In Jesus name, may His Word come to be in your life and person.

  9. I watched Mavuno live on citizen, i had not heard about it before it was wonderful, especially the lady pastor who preached on that day. May God bless you all.

  10. Thanx pastor M.Since I left campus its bn hard setln in a church.Am hom at Mavuno and al set to be part of Gods work through Mavuno.

  11. Hi, I am not a church goer, but ever since i started seeing ur show, i realised i got a passion to be church goer. Currently I am at Campus in Nyeri, and wish that you had a branch here,….I speak on behalf of Kimathi University Community and for now I shall continue to attend the TV church. God Bless

  12. You are doing a great work!! but could someone pls come down(lol) and share with us Pst Linda’s sermon of March 28th,2010 the audio went off during the praise and worship on Ustream till the end. It will be highly appreciated and I’m sure we’ll be blessed by the message. God bless you and all Mavuno team. Can you believe what God has done?? It seems that in a twinkling of an eye Mavuno has reached the nations. I hope yall are prepared for this mighty next phase, I am along for the ride will keep yall in prayer.

Leave a Reply

