Fruit

Bearing fruit is the ultimate thing a vine does. All other activity is geared towards this one activity. It’s not about having lush, green leaves (read – frantic activity). No fruit means everything else is absolutely useless. Incidentally, this passage is where the idea came from to read through the book of John.

I am encouraged today by the following passages…

v.8 This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit…

v.16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you to go and bear fruit–fruit that will last.

None of us wants to live a life of mediocrity. To be born, go to school, get married, have kids, and then die. There’s got to be more to life! I know that I want my life to count for something. I want to have a positive impact on my generation. I want to leave this continent far better than I found it…

The good news is… my Creator has the same desire for me. He wants me to live an effective life that has ultimate meaning. He wants me to bear much fruit. That’s why He made me as I am and that’s why He chose me to be where I am…

Lord, thanks that as I cooperate with you (stay connected), it is to your interest that I bear much fruit. May every day, including today, count towards this. Help me have an effective and focused week. Give me opportunities to show you love to others. And may I have a great feeling of satisfaction this week, knowing that it was not about activity, but effectiveness. AMEN

3 responses to “Fruit

  1. The text today reminds me of another scripture that says that by their fruits you shall know them.
    So fruit bearing is closely linked to our identity and our identity determines our destiny.

    Its amazing to think of how many people God brings in our life’s for us to evangelize to them with out speaking a word but just through our our lifestyle. The fruit of our actions and words is the only sermon that some people will ever get a chance of hearing.

    Our connection to the father is for not just for us but for many others.

    Am greatly challenged.

  2. Pst M, this group daily devotion was a great idea, Gods work is coming alive for me. It is official, John 15 is the passage for me this year! I am a great administrator with lots of ideas therefore if i am not busy with activity then i feel unwanted, activity means i am useful, needed and living life. But Jesus say the very opposite… connect first to Him, get instructions from Him first, allow Him to nip & tuck at me, only then can i be fruitful and super effective with probably half the energy, stress and pain (I can already hear the team i work with say a loud amen). Now i can begin to see how someone like me can actually make a tangible difference in my workplace, home, country, continent and world. I love it!! Wishing y’all a great week.

  3. remain in me… (repated many times) why? then you will bear fruit. obey my commands… remain in my love (repeated many times) why? so that your joy may be complete and become a friend of God. Today Jesus commands me to love others. I need to obey.

    dear God who is love teach me to love. May I care for and nuture others around me as you reveal to me to do. In Jesus Name. Amen

Leave a Reply

