Free

Many times, the attitudes of our heart can keep us from hearing what God is saying. One of the implications of the fact that He is God is that our posture towards Him should be of humility and obedience. We often think we need to understand something first in order to believe it. With God’s word, He wants us to believe in Him so He can help us understand it. The terms of engagement begin with surrender. And yet if we are too set in our ways, if change feels too costly, if we’re determined to retain control, then we’ll find every reason to argue and convince ourselves out of what He says to us. We’ll allow the devil to deceive us. At that point, no evidence – words or miracle – will convince us that what we are resisting is the truth.

In John 8:12-47, those opposed to Jesus could not grasp what He taught. Even though the truth Jesus taught them could set them free, they resisted it. They were slaves to sin and yet they rejected the only One who could set them free from its power.

Lord, please help me not to harden my heart to you. May Your Spirit help me understand what You are saying at every point of the day, and may I be willing to submit to it and follow You. And as I do so, may you set me free from the power of sin and its temptations. AMEN

3 responses to “Free

  1. Hey Pastor M, Am just wondering what “total Surrender, submission” really means…been following the extreme make-over and i realize that i am in such a rush to be made over to the point that i have even finished with the book of John already. Am only 25 and it feels like i have lived to 250 basically just totally hangovered with life :(…joined the mizizi class as well and seems like all i look forward to is Tuesday and Sunday not to mention that it is a struggle to get to church not coz of means but simply the thought of getting energy to get by….then the rest of the week is just a daze…i wish i could have some emergency miracles coz i definitely need a jump-start to life.

    Have a blessed week

  2. I really do thank God for you pasto m and the entire mavuno mentor or leadership team. this far i have come, is God but without using people like you, i would have been like a stagnant ship. the ‘rebellion’surmon was powerful especially for me because although i believe and worship God, i realize that sometimes i have blocked my blessings by rebelling against my chief purser at work. Today i am in sychelles and i was in the same flight with her and i totally submitted to her and realised how easy and free i became. Thank you God. Please continue praying for me.

  3. hi all. what marvelous treasures Christ gives – living water that I may thirst no more, light that I may never walk in darkness, truth that sets me free from bondage & slavery to sin, eternal life that I may never see death.

    Dear God, I believe in yr son and may I walk in these gifts that are my portion. may they be made manifest in my life as a witness of my faith in you. In Jesus name. Amen

Leave a Reply

