Ready For Change

Getting onto the web here is proving harder than I thought! The off-site continues to go well… some good bonding going on. This morning, the guys on the team met at 5am for the first coast edition of Gideon’s Torch, our men’s weekly prayer meeting, while the real GT was happening 500km away at the Mavuno dome! We had a phenomenal time of bonding and prayer.

Over the last four years, I’ve shared the vision of Mavuno many times in many forums but somehow, it never grows old. As I’ve shared it with this year’s staff team, I have continually marveled at how privileged I am to lead and work with such gifted and passionate people.  Many of them are going to play a significant role in leading the army that God is raising to change this continent in the years to come. It’s been said that whenever God wants to do something significant, He raises a leader. I thank God for the many different leaders He is raising up at Mavuno to lead our amazing congregation. I’m excited about 2010!

Yesterday’s bible reading was from John 4:43-54. When Jesus tells the official to go because his son would live, it says ‘the man took Jesus at his word and departed’. I prayed that God would help me act like I believe God will come through on His word, regarding all the promises that He has made to me. Today’s reading is 5:1-14. A man paralyzed for thirty eight years, yet the first question Jesus asks him is ‘do you want to be healed?’! You’d expect the answer to be obvious. But Jesus knows that it’s possible for people to get so adjusted to living in less than optimal conditions that they no longer think change is possible or even necessary.

Search my heart today God. If there are any things that are holding me back from being the son you created me to be, please expose them and deal with them. I want to be changed! I don’t want to hold back because of fear of change or complacency. I don’t want to ever get used to living a life that is not fully compliant with the vision that you have for me. AMEN

6 responses to “Ready For Change

  1. I feel you Pastor M on the Mavuno vision. You know what is amazing? Just speaking with you last week brought such a refreshing feeling of my involvement in this marathon… that and the fact that I am currently reading Bill Hybels, Courageous Leadership… I strongly suspect you admire this man deeply!

    On yesterday’s reading, the man’s simply believing moved me but I also got that Jesus did not have to be physically there for the boy to be healed he spoke words of life and called healing that was not there to be there… need I say more. Lord give me a child like faith, trusting in you believing each promise

    I think today what stood out for me was just how hardened the Pharisees had become that their love for God and the people they claimed to be serving had gone stone cold…. The man had been paralysed 38 years! And the first question they asked him was why are you carrying a mat on the Sabbath! Isn’t that like me… getting too used to being in the household of faith that when God saves over 100 men in on month, I just think it is normal, when the church is experiencing healing and transformation of lives… I look at it as kawa (the usual thing? Create in me a clean heart oh Lord and renew a right spirit within me
    Baraka tele!

  2. Me likey! 🙂 waa si that is profound! Hehe, imagine to some point i think Jesus is asking me the same thing! Do i want to get healed? You know the twisted part about being frustrated, sick, hurt, bitter is that there’s a point where we are so used to it, and even don mind it! Its grown to be such a part of the way we think and act! Anyway, i chose to be healed, am at the point where i need God to save me from me! My thoughts, attitudes desires! I want to be immersed in that pool where my all is swept away so that he can be my all!

  3. Hi peoples,
    Fromt he readings, what really stands out for me is this phrase of LET GO AND LET GOD! How many times do we hear this and yet we still try to sort out things the way we know rather than let HIM take over. Just like the officer, He trusted and had faith so much that he just took off and left when Jesus said his son is healed. @Breaking Point, I think you just lay it all down to God, leave Him with your issues and He will definately sort you out. We will be praying for you!
    Have a great day y’all

  4. Hi Pator M,

    First of all I thank God for Mavuno. My life has never been the same again.

    I cannot wait for God to make me over again especially with the extreme make over series.

    I usually deal with counter attacking when I have to deal with a situation and sometimes i also do it nil by mouth. I have been confronted with a situation where the father of my child has gone to the courts asking for full custody of my son. am feeling very hurt and discouraged at the moment and am tempted to fight him back with all the bad things he did to me including a physical attack and driving drunk with the child on his laps hence endangering the baby’s life. the first session of court was held on 12th and he did not get the custody instead he got visitation rights for 2 weekends in a month. Am thanking God already for that.
    Hearing has been set in March and am trusting God for his Favour, his grace and his victory in this situation. I know now that I cannot do this alone. I choose to rely on the Holy Spirit’s power and guidance so I will do nothing from selfish ambition or vain conceit. I know am a winner in Jesus name.

    Please mention my name when praying for mavunites.

    Blessings,
    Mo.

  5. I meant to post yesterday but here it is anyway..

    John 4:43-54 What stands out for me is the statement “a prophet has no honour in his country” and Jesus seeing from them that He had to perform miraculous signs and wonders for them to believe. It got me thinking of the great people around me that I take for granted just because I am familiar with them – whether relatives, friends, colleagues.. I should learn to see how unique and important they are and appreciate them.

    On this note let me take the time to appreciate you Pastor M. I admire you as my pastor and I’m amazed at the great things God has bless you to achieve in the past and even now. I admire your gift of vision, being able to excite people to rally together to achieve. Your brilliant sermons that always leave me with something deep to reflect on. Your wisdom and consistency. May God continue to bless you.

    Dear God, may I learn to appreciate those around me and not take them for granted. That I may not miss out on opportunities to closely interact with greatness. In Jesus Name. Amen

    John 5:1-14
    What stands out for me is the statement “See, you are well again. Stop sinning or something worse may happen to you.” I guess that must have sobered up the guy – what could have been worse that 38 years of disability, disease and suffering! I remember the place God delivered me from, when I was in sexual sin, depression and had lost hope. I apply this directly and work at my salvation with fear and trembling and do not take the grace of God and gift of salvation lightly.

    Dear God, who began a good work in me: I hold on to the promise that you will carry it to completion to the day of Christ Jesus. My sincere prayer is that I may dwell in your companionship all the days of my life, to gaze upon your beauty – all the days of my life. In Jesus Name. Amen

Leave a Reply

