Evidence

Tommorow, I leave with the staff team for our annual staff retreat. It’s a pretty important time for us as we build relationships and help everyone get aligned to the task before us as a team this year. I would appreciate your prayers that God will give us one heart and one mind.

Congratulations if you’ve been able to do a whole week of reflection on the gospel of John! I found today’s reading quite deep, with much to think about. For instance, I’m struck by John 3:17 ‘God did not send his son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him’. Many who are not in church see Christians as judgmental and condemning. If you listened to my interview yesterday with Cess on Capitol FM, that came out pretty clearly! But that’s not what God put us here for. Our mission is not to put people in a box or to act as if we’re better than them, but through our love to live the kind of attractive lives that will point people to the One who can save them.

Which brings me to my brief for today… In John 3:2, Nicodemus says ‘Rabbi, we know you are a teacher who has come from God. For no one could perform the miraculous signs you are doing if God were not with him’. God is a good manager; when He delegates a task, He also provides the authority to get the task done.

Lord I pray today that you will supply tangible evidence that will validate to everyone around me that my ministry and calling are from you.

7 responses to “Evidence

  1. Hi pasi. I listened to you on capital yesterday and I must confess I was one of those judgemental and condemning christians. I was the cu leader Cess was talking about who after high school fell and fell really hard. I had to learn the hard way that I was not all that. The verse that says be careful lest you fall is really true. I was so busy judging others I did not realize I was slipping. God has taught me that if He does not condemn, I have no place condemning either. I’ve got issues but thank God we serve a God who doesnt condemn. Vs 21 really struck me. It got me asking, ‘if others look at the life I’m living, will they say that what I’ve done has been through God or will they doubt the God I serve?’ I pray that as God illuminates the darkness in my life, and as I live in truth others will be attracted to God.

  2. Heh triza looks like we are many former cu leaders that fell! Thank God we are on the straight path. Yesterday we somewhat spoke about condemning others in my life group,and its sad that we do it. I think the mizizi of this is because we either don’t know or refuse to love. Is there a reason why God summarized the ten commandments into two that all have to with love? Could it be, that the reason why verse 16 that speaks on love comes before verse 17 that speaks on condemnation, because where there’s love there can be no condemnation? Cut a long story short, love is the greatest! Love is why we are and should ideally be the motivation behind our everyday living.

  3. Pst. M, truly grateful for ur blog this wk. Reading from you & everyone else has given me psyche to be up to speed with every one else so that I properly connect… Love drew me to Mavuno & for the almost 2 years that I’ve been @ Church I must say that I can attest to the work of God not only in my life but that of the greater congregation… Pst. M, I’ll definitely keep you/us-Mavunites&TheGreaterChurchOfChrist in prayer that our light may so shine before men & when they see our good deeds, they’ll indeed praise the Father.

  4. Hi all, I’m blessed to read of your testimonies, this indeed is a powerful reading. The verse 1 Corn 10:12 “So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall!” is a warning against pride and so the saying ‘pride comes before a fall’. I suffer from this time to time; especially when thoughts being better than someone else come to mind. ‘Oh im not sinning as much as they are’, ‘my life is so much together than they are’.. I’m learning to arrest the thought and instead pray for the other a blessing opposite to my thought.

    I find it interesting that Nicodemus came to Christ at night; a high powered public figure who didn’t want to be exposed about his curiosity in Christ. He could tell this guy was from God and wanted to know more. It also strikes me what a marvelous mystery it is to be ‘born again’ in itself. I have been baptized with water and later had an encounter with God where I was baptized with the holy spirit and my spirit renewed.

    I thank God for the gift that plugs us into his Kingdom by the mystery of being born again. I thank God for giving us his Spirit so generously, without limit as John testifies. May I not be ashamed of my association with Christ by trying to hide that I am a believer. In Jesus name. Amen

  5. Oh, just to let you know I’m keeping you all in prayer as you go for the staff retreat. May God be with you all and bless your time together. May He give you divine wisdom as you make plans for Mavuno. May there be love and unity among all of you. May he provide for you, keep you safe and give you a wonderful time. In Jesus name. Amen.

  6. Hi all,
    Am sorry to be checking in late on this one but I must say the sharing is deep. I drew depth in the reading specifically when Jesus explains to Nicodemus about the fact that eternal life is as a result of being born again! It is indeed a mysterious concept this work of the Holy Spirit that Jesus likens to the wind. We do not see when it comes from or where it goes we just hear it. What a lesson, there is nothing we can do of ourselves except to say yes when God says come. The rest is really His business. Am staying connected no matter what

  7. Wow, i see what i have been missing. great insight on the book of John, will definately keep reading the blog and the readings of the day ofcourse.
    Shalom.

Leave a Reply

