Nine Things

kampalaI’ve been offline for a couple of weeks trying to keep up with family and work stuff amidst a busier than usual travel schedule. I’ve missed blogging though. I’m currently in Kampala with group of several fearless influencers from Mavuno. This is more a reconnaissance type trip ~ as we explore the possibilities of starting a Mavuno-like church in this city. It’s been a phenomenal few days and every single one of our meetings has gone even better than we expected. Thanks for all of you who’ve been praying! Let me start off with the nine things I like most about Kampala so far. Not in any particular order…

  1. The People – officially not known as Kampalans or Kampalites, people here are very warm and welcoming. They are also extremely courteous and enjoyable to be around.
  2. Pace of life – people are generally much more relaxed than in Nairobi. A couple of days back I was rushing across town at rush hour until I noticed no one else was rushing anywhere. Kinda made me look odd so I slowed down. I was surprised how much more I enjoyed my walk after that!
  3. Boda-boda – The city is populated with numerous motor-bike taxis. Though I’m glad they don’t allow them on Nairobi streets as they would greatly shorten our national life expectancy, they were fun to take rides on!
  4. History – I’ve enjoyed the sense of history around the place, as we visited the Buganda parliament and palace as well as a couple of the earliest churches. Also the memorable martyrs hill where numerous Christians were beheaded or burnt alive in the late 1800’s because they wouldn’t renounce their faith
  5. Beauty – It’s easy to see why this very green and hilly city is called the Pearl of Africa.
  6. Safe – Kampala just feels much safer to walk/drive in than Nairobi
  7. Good Churches – We’ve encountered some great churches here such as Kampala Pentecostal Church (now known as Watoto Church) that is doing some great work in influencing the society and looking after many orphans (there are two million orphans in Uganda). This has given them a good reputation in the society. Also got to hang out with some of the pastoral team. Cool peoples. Another church we enjoyed visiting is Ggaba Community Church.
  8. Young adults – I’ve really enjoyed hanging out with the younger generation here. They’re so similar to peeps back home and yet so different. Met an incredibly switched on group of them yesterday and gained some great perspectives on non-church going youth in Kampala and Kampala culture in general (UG is the youngest nation on earth; 50% under the age of 15!)
  9. Kabaragara – means the small round brown pancakes sold by bike vendors on the streets. None of us has yet dared to taste them but the name sounds so cool when Ugandans say it!

We have several key meetings planned today and tomorrow before we return to Nairobi. Please pray they go well.

15 responses to “Nine Things

  1. Hey Pst M, great to hear from you!
    Amazing are the prospects in UG. Even more amazing is that half the population is below 15!I can now begin to see your vision of transforming the continent of Africa and beyond.I think of what God is preparing us for here at Mavuno and we have no idea!Just like I said to you on this blog, I hope that God will raise Obamas for Kenya, I pray that I will be counted in expanding his kingdom.Blessed to be a blessing!
    God keep you and your team well in UG as we await your safe return and good report when you get back!
    …sorry this got longer than I like to keep it…

  2. Pastor M I know Kabaragara sounds cool when said but you and your team need to keep away! Its one of those things that only Ugandans is all I can say. I can’t believe you took a boda ride!
    All success in your mission and safe return

  3. hey great to have you back online.

    is it true that the women there bow when serving their men?or that is just in the villages?

    if true, so am ready to be commissioned to serve God there fulltime!!!!

  4. Hi pastor m.
    you guys are definately living it up(i mean this in the nicest way).Thanks for challenging us on reading the New testament this past quarter.Actually i embarked on this journey sometime ago.I completed reading the entire Bible,cover to cover on Friday last week.I am quite humbled.I am now encouraging my life group members to do the same.We spend so much time transitting ,what with the traffic jams,i think for us javelor’s its a perfect way to utilize it.
    PS
    While in Kampala,you guys must simply have those big chickens they sell on skwers!

  5. Pastor M, it is done in Jesus name! Our prayers never go unanswered..He knew long before you had even thought of it. IT IS DONE! Thank you Jesus

  6. Hey all, thanks for the comments & prayers.
    @ Wendy 1, for sure, let’s ask God to make us those Obama’s. With His help, Yes We Can!
    @ gogetter, you bet I kept my distance from those Kabaragaras!
    @ h, congrats on reading the bible through; definately get your group to do it. And can’t believe I missed the skewered chickens!
    @ nutcase, for sure you have issues. But then again, that’s why we go to Mavuno 🙂

  7. Hi Pastor M, the company i work for has a branch in Kampala, and was discussing how both countries there is rain with my fellow kenyan and he was telling me unlike here when it rains traffic jams is the norm there everyone stays indoors until the rain stops…no going to work:-)…no rush at all.
    God be with you.

  8. Passie, karibu back! I am now starting to think that your next post will be titled, ” A WEEK IN SPAIN”:)

    I am just so glad to be part of Mavuno, its month 11 and what? transformation for real is happening.

    I am now catching myself telling me-self:
    – What? “KISA” Mavunites dont behave life that?
    – Remember you are a Mavunite
    – Excellence! Excellence! Excellence
    – “KISA”, you cannot lead people when you are not in sync with God…

    Why, because Mavuno for me is where I have a lot, in the recent present, about Christ and Christianity and what it really means to call yourself a “son” of God.

    God bless you Passie M & C and your family!

  9. Hey Pastor M,

    Welcome back we surely missed u. i hope you brought us matoke. Uganda is a nice country to be in and i wld agree with u, guys there are cool.
    We recently graduated from mizizi, got born again during the ten weeks and weve formed a new beginners class to help us in our new life. one wonderful fearless mavunite is taking the 6 of us through it. she is a wonderful woman of God, i feel so blessed to have her. she is babying us, teaching us how to read the word, spend quality time with God, give and just be his true children.

    We have a question, Is it acceptable as a christian to have a baby through sperm bank? If u are a single, able woman who does not want anything to do with Men and doesnt want to get married can u choose sperm bank baby?

    Thank You

    Msafi

  10. @ Jade, we had such great weather in Kampala that I can’t confirm your friend’s hypothesis…

    @ Kisa, way to go! What’s the use of giving up two valuable hours every week if there’s no real change in my life! BTW, Spain would be nice. I wish!

    @ Msafi, good question! Tell you what, I’d like to post it up as the next blog post and see what the world thinks. I’d love to hear your team’s opinions! Pls ask this phenomenal lady to get in touch with me as I’d like to learn from what she’s doing with ya’ll.

  11. I believe God will continue use Mavuno as you venture into Uganda. Thank you for fearlessly using the sword of the Spirit to cut every pretension that sets itself against the knowledge of Jesus Christ. God bless.

  12. Well i just read this today after visiting the famous Mavuno, i am from Kampala and i was moved by your kind words of the people of Kampala. I had fun today at mavuno and i wish you all the best. By the way, some one here asked if the women in Kampala kneel down, this is a question i have been asked a million times here in Nairobi. OK! people here have made a big exaggeration of what really happens. Kneeling is mainly done in villages, also kneeling is mainly done towards elders for respect even this is done when you the people are close to you. So, i will clear the air for you, its NOT as you have heard it. Women who do it do it out of their own wish and respect to the people they consider to be worthy that respect. Not to every John and Harry!!

    Thanks

  13. @ james
    thanks for that info.the greatest bummer is that it’s done in the villages 🙂

  14. @ James, glad you could visit us! And thanks for helping the nutcase understand :-)! Hope to see you in your beautiful city one of these days.

Leave a Reply

